Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in menu_set_active_trail() (line 2404 of /home/mme/murty/includes/


Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering 

Dr. Srinivasa Rao Bakshi
Email: sbakshi @

In-situ composites

Prof. M. Balasubramanian
Email: mbala @

Nano PZT

Prof. S. Ganesh Sundararaman
Email: ganesh @

Microstructure and mechanical properties of steels

Prof. K.C. Harikumar       
Email: kchkumar @

Thermodynamics of metallic glasses and high entropy alloys

Prof. M. Kamaraj
Email: kamaraj @

 Tribological behavior of materials, High entropy alloys

Dr. G. Phani Kumar
Email: gphani @

Microstructure evolution during  solidification

Dr. K. Ravi Sankar  
Email: ravi.sankar @

Mechanical behavior of high entropy alloys, High entropy coatings

Dr. S. Sankaran
Email: ssankaran @

Al- hybrid foams

Dr. V.S. Sarma      
Email: vsarma @

Development of high strength  nanocrystalline / ultra fine grained ASl alloys by mechanical alloying and cryo rolling, Al based in-situ composites, Fe based ODS alloys

Dr. K.G. Pradeep      
Email: kgprad @


Other Departments of IIT Madras

Prof. Kasi Viswanathan           
Email:kasi @

Microstructure evolution in thin films 


Prof. G. Markandeyulu                     
Email: mark @

Magnetic nanocomposites


Prof. V.R.K. Murthy
Email: vrkm @

Nano multi ferroelectrics


Prof. V. Srinivas        
Email: veeturi @

Magnetic high entropy alloys


Prof. U.V. Varadaraju
Email: varada @

Nano thermoelectric materials


Prof. M.S.R. Rao
Email: msrrao @
Thermoelectric thin films


ARCI, Hyderabad (International Advanced Research Centre for Powder Metallurgy and New Materials) Dr. K. Murugan (nano TiO2)
ARDE, Pune (Armament Research and Development Establishment) Dr. B. Paveen Kumar (nano PZT)
BARC, Bombay (Bhaba Atomic Research Center) Dr. G.K. Dey (Bulk Metallic Glasses)
DMRL, Hyderabad (Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory)

Dr. Chandrasekharan (magnetic nanocomposites)

Dr. G. Madhusudan Reddy (Friction welding)

Dr. Bhaskar Majumdar (Bulk metallic glasses, nanocrystalline magnetic materials)

IGCAR, Kalpakkam, (Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research)

Dr. A.K. Bhaduri (Microstrcture-property correlations correlations in weldments)
Dr. S. Saroja (Fe base ODS alloys)
IIT BHU, Varanasi (Indain Institute of Technology) Dr. N.K. Mukhopadhyay (Quasicrystalline materials)
NMRL, Amarnath (Naval Materials Research Laboratory) Mr. Vinay Deshmukh (Al based hybrid foams)
RINL, Visakhapatnam (Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited) (Nano coatings on laddle refractories)
Titan Research Park, IITM (Bulk metallic glass coatings & BMG watch cases)



Prof. Jürgen Eckert, Montanuniversität, Leoben, Austria (Nanocomposites)


Prof. Chris Berndt, Swinburne University, Melbourne, Australia (High entropy alloy coatings)

Prof. Peter Hodgeson, and Dr. Daniel Fabijanic, Institute for Frontier Materials, Deakin University, Melbourne, Australia (Oxidation studies and additive manufacturing of high entropy alloys)

Dr. R.K. Raman Singh, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia (Corrosion of nanocrystalline materials)


Prof. C. Ravi Ravindran,  Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada (High strength Al and Mg alloys)

Dr. Lukas Bichler, University of British Columbia, Kelowna, Canada (SPS of advanced materials)


Prof. C. Dong, Dalian University, Dalian, China (Bulk metallic glasses)


Prof. B. Guenther, Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Materials, Germany (Nanocrystalline materials)

Prof. Dierk Raabe, Max Plank Institute, Dusseldorf, Germany (Atom probe tomography of High entropy alloys)

Prof. Horst Hahn, Institute of Nanotechnology, Karlsruhe, Germany (Magnetic nanocomposites)

Prof. John Banhart, Helmoltz Centre for Materials and Technical Univesrity, Berlin, Germany (Al based metallic glasses; stabilization of metallic foams; APT of high entropy alloys)

Prof. Martin Heilmaier, Institute of Materials, University of Magdeburg, Magdeburg, Germany (Nano ODS Alloys)

Dr. Sergiy Divinski, Institute of Materials Physics, University of Münster, Münster, Germany (Tracer diffusion studies on high entropy alloys)


Rajasekhara Shabadi, University of Lille, Villeneuve d'Ascq, France


Prof. A. Inoue, Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan (Bulk Metallic Glasses)

Prof. K. Hono, National Institute of Materials Science, Tsukuba,  Japan (Nanoquasicrystallization of metallic glasses; nanocomposites)


Prof. D.H. Kim, Yonsei University, South Korea (Al based nanocomposites by Rapid Solidification Processing)

Prof. Eun Soo Park, Seoul National University, South Korea (HEA BMGs)


Prof. J.W. Yeh, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan (High entropy alloys)


Dr. Dan Miracle, US Airforce Laboratory (Refractory HEAs)

Prof. Krishna Rajan, Iowa State University, USA (Atom probe tomography of ODS steels)

Prof. Vilupanur A. Ravi, California Polytechnic Pomona, USA (Hot Corrosion of HEAs)