Ongoing projects

On-going Research Projects (13 projects, Rs. 51.72 Crores ≈ USD 7.5M @ Rs. 69 = 1 USD)
  • Principal Investigator: JC Bose Fellowship (SERB, 2018-2023) (Rs. 95 lakhs) Principal Investigator: Development of self-cleaning coatings on glass using TiO 2 nano particles developed at Indian Rare Earth Ltd. (Jointly with Dr. K. Murugan, ARCI, Hyderabad) (IRELTDC, 2018-2021) (Rs. 79 lakhs)
  • Principal Investigator: High Entropy Alloys for high temperature Aircraft components (Imprint Project Jointly with Prof. V.S. Sarma, IITM, Dr. S. Srinivasan, GE, Bangalore) (SERB & GE, 2018-2021) (Rs.61 lakhs)
  • Principal Investigator: Support to National facility for Atom Probe Tomography (Jointly with Prof. S. Sankaran, IITM; Dr. Raghavendra Tiwari and J.B. Singh, BARC, Mumbai) (BRNS, 2018-2023) (Rs. 334 lakhs)
  • Principal Investigator: Development of Oxide Dispersion Strengthened Steels for Super Critical Thermal Boilers and Fusion Reactors (UAY, 2018-2021) (Rs. 383 Lakhs, 50% from MHRD and 50% from Innomet Powders)
  • Principal Investigator: Support for the Nanocrystallite Materials Research (IITM, 2018-2019) (Rs. 10 lakhs)
  • Principal Investigator: Oxide Stregthened High Entropy Alloys for High Temperature Applications (IITM, 2018-2019) (Rs. 10 lakhs)
  • Principal Investigator: Institute R&D Senior Level Award (IITM, 2017-2020) (Rs. 40 lakhs)
  • Principal Investigator: Spark Plasma Sintered Metal-Metal and Metal-Polymer Materials for Lightweight Thermal/Electrical Applications (Shastri Research Grant, 2018-2019) (Jointly with Abdallah Elsayed, University of Guelph & Lukas Bichler, University of British Columbia, Canada) (CAN 6500, funding provided to the Canadian Investigator)
  • Coordinator: Deakin-IITM Centre of Excellence in Advanced Materials and Manufacturing, (Deakin & IITM, 2017-2020) (Rs. 100 lakhs)
  • Principal Investigator: National facility for atomic scale materials characterization using remotely operated atom probe tomography (Jointly with Dr. S. Sankaran, Dr. Ravi Sankar Kottada) (DST Nano Mission, 2016-2019) (Rs. 2584 lakhs from DST and Rs. 1400 lakhs from 7 other Institutions, A total of Rs. 3984 lakhs)
  • Principal Investigator: Advanced manufacturing of new high entropy alloys (Australia-India Strategic Research Fund, 2017-2020) (Jointly with Dr. G.D. Janaki Ram, IIT Madras, Prof. Satyam Suwas, IISc Bangalore, Dr. K. Anand, GE Bangalore, Prof. Matthew Barnett, Prof. Peter Hodgson, Prof. Svetha Venkatesh, Dr. Daniel Fabijanic, Deakin University, Prof. Xinhua Wu, Monash University and Prof. Ma Qian, RMIT, Australia) (Rs. 41 Lakhs)
  • Principal Investigator: Refractory HEAs for high temperature applications (US Air Force Office of Scientific Research, 2018-2020) (Rs. 35 lakhs)