Distinguished Alumni

The Distinguished Alumnus Awards are presented by the Institute annually. As of 2015, 11 members of the dept. alumni are presented with this award. The details are as follows:

dipankarDipankar Banerjee (B.Tech –1974; DAA – 2003)

Banerjee received his PhD from IISc Bangalore. He joined DMRL, Hyderabad in 1979 and became its Director from 1996 to 2003. He was Chief Controller, R&D of DRDO during 2003-2010. Currently, he is a Professor in Department of Materials Engineering at IISc Bangalore. Banerjee also serves on the board of governors of IIT Madras and chairs the GTMAP program of ARDB, Govt. of India. He is a Fellow of INAE, INSA, IAS and NAS. He has received many prestigious honours including Padma Shri (2005), Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award (1993), National Metallurgists award (1987) and DRDO’s Lifetime Achievement award (2014).

sheakerSekhar Vasan (B.Tech – 1975; DAA – 2015)

Sekhar Vasan founded a world-class manufacturing company, Sansera Engineering in 1986. Started in 1986 from a small workshop, Sansera Engineering has become a Rs 700 crores company today, with 9 plants located all across the country and more than 3,000 employees. Its major clients include Maruti Suzuki, General Motors, Yamaha, Honda Motors and Ducati. All of Sansera’s forgings are produced inhouse in one of the best facilities for high-precision small forgings in the country. Sansera has won many awards from its customers both in India and abroad, including Best Practices Recognition from General Motors.

sundararajan-disSundararajan G. (B.Tech – 1976; DAA – 2006)

Sundararajan received his PhD from Ohio State University. He is currently a Professor at Department of MME, IIT Madras. He has been the Director of ARCI, Hyderabad for more than a decade. During his tenure, Sundararajan has made notable contributions to the development, demonstration and commercialization of materials-based technologies. Over the last 10 years, over 35 technologies have been transferred to private industries located all over India. Sundararajan has been a recipient of many prestigious awards which include Padma Shri (2013) and Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award (1994).

sudarshan-disSudarshan T.S. (B.Tech – 1976; DAA – 2014)

Sudarshan obtained his PhD from Virginia Tech., USA. He is the President of Materials Modification, Inc. He is a passionate entrepreneur in the area of nanotechnology and surface engineering, co-author of 175 papers, delivered over 50 keynote and plenary lectures, holder of 23 patents, Co-Editor of Materials and Manufacturing Processes, Editor of Surface Engineering and has edited 36 books on Surface Modification Technologies and other topics. He is a Fellow of ASM International, Fellow of International Federation on Heat Treatment and Surface Engineering and Fellow of Institute of Mining, Metals and Materials, U.K. He also serves on the Board of ASM International.

atul-h-disAtul H. Chokshi (B.Tech – 1980; DAA – 2008)

Chokshi received his PhD from University of South California, USA. He is currently a Professor in Department of Materials Engineering at IISc Bangalore. He has served as faculty at University of California, San Diego for five years and held visiting faculty positions in more than six Universities in USA, Europe and Japan. Chokshi is ranked among the top 100 most cited materials scientists in the world. He is a Fellow of the IAS, INAE, INSA and NAS. He has received many prestigious awards which
include Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award (2003) and Metallurgist of the year award (2001).